Please address all correspondence to:

The Clerk
Aylesham House
Dorman Avenue South
01304 840377

PCSO Details
Emma Carmichael
07966 308 732
For reporting incidents dial 101




The name Aylesham is thought to derive from the old English ‘Aegeles ham’ meaning Aegel’s settlement. Though the name is old, Aylesham is a comparatively modern place chosen as the first of a number of new towns to be created in east Kent for miners working in the area’s coalfield.
During the 1920s renowned architect and town planner Sir Patrick Abercrombie was commissioned to design Aylesham by mine owners Pearson & Dorman Long who had acquired 600 acres of farmland a couple of miles from their colliery at Snowdown.
Sir Patrick’s vision was that Aylesham would be a self sufficient community of up to 15,000 residents living in 3,000 houses. It soon had its own primary and secondary schools, fire station, police station, choirs, railway station, Co-op store, social club, sports clubs, parish council and churches.
By the 1930s, the falling price of coal, economic depression and industrial unrest meant there was no money to continue with the plan and only 650 or so houses and a few community facilities were built. That didn’t stop many more miners moving to the area though. They had been forced to move south to look for work after mine closures in the north of England, Scotland and Wales.


Download (PDF, 6.14MB)

When is surgery?

Drop-in surgery is the last Friday of every month between 10.00am – 12. at Aylesham House.

The Parish Council meeting is on the 2nd Thurday of every month at 19:00 at Aylesham House. (Anyone wishing to attend a meeting and speak on an agenda item please inform the clerk on